Aijan Muktar

Aijan Muktar, 20 years old, is a law student at the University of Geneva. Having grown up in Geneva before spending three years in Washington DC, Aijan has experienced rich multicultural environments. She developed an interest in international politics from a very young age. Since returning from the United States in 2015, Aijan has been involved in the associative world through the Geneva Red Cross Youth, where she participates as a volunteer in various projects, and by joining the Geneva Youth Parliament, where she chaired the integration commission for young migrants for one year.

Aijan is also actively involved as a volunteer in Switzerland and in Europe at the European Youth Parliament (EYP), an organisation providing a platform for intercultural exchange and debate on current issues for young Europeans. This commitment follows on from her involvement as a delegate at various EYP conferences, through which she was able to deepen her knowledge in different policy areas. Aijan’s experience also includes taking part in the Federal Youth Session and the “Young Reporters at the UN” programme run by the Eduki Foundation in Geneva, which showed her the wealth and diversity of opinions and ideas of young Swiss people.

As a Youth Rep, Aijan would primarily like to promote the Sustainable Development Goals to young people in Switzerland, and also to ensure that young people are aware of the impact they can have in international decision-making.

Aijan Muktar

Aijan Muktar

Youth Rep

aijan.muktar@youthrep.ch

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Aijan Muktar

Aijan Muktar, 20 Jahre alt, studiert an der Universität Genf Recht. Sie ist in Genf aufgewachsen und hat drei Jahre in Washington DC gewohnt. Aijan hat somit in einem äusserst multikulturellen Umfeld gelebt und sich schon sehr früh für die internationale Politik interessiert. Seit ihrer Rückkehr aus den Vereinigten Staaten im Jahr 2015 engagiert sie sich im Genfer Jugendrotkreuz und ist als Freiwillige an verschiedenen Projekten beteiligt. Sie ist auch im Jugendparlament Parlement des Jeunes Genevois, wo sie unter anderem ein Jahr lang Präsidentin der Kommission für die Integration junger MigrantInnen war.

Aijan setzt sich ausserdem in der Schweiz und in Europa ehrenamtlich im Europäischen Jugendparlament (European Youth Parliament, EYP) ein. Diese Organisation bietet europäischen Jugendlichen eine Plattform für interkulturellen Austausch und Debatten über aktuelle Themen. Zuvor hat sie bereits als Delegierte an verschiedenen Konferenzen des EYP teilgenommen, bei denen sie ihre Kenntnisse der verschiedenen politischen Bereiche vertiefen konnte. Des Weiteren war Aijan Teilnehmerin an der Eidgenössischen Jugendsession sowie am Programm junge Reporter bei der UNO der Fondation Eduki in Genf. In diesem Rahmen kam sie mit den vielfältigen und unterschiedlichen Meinungen und Vorstellungen der Schweizer Jugend in Berührung.

Als Youth Rep möchte Aijan vor allem die Schweizer Jugend auf die Ziele der nachhaltigen Entwicklung sensibilisieren, ihnen aber auch bewusst machen, dass sie Entscheidungen auf internationaler Ebene beeinflussen können.

Aijan Muktar

Aijan Muktar

Youth Rep

aijan.muktar@youthrep.ch

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This