Cemre Balaban

Cemre Balaban is 24 years old and grew up in Zurich. She studied classical humanities  at the Literargymnasium Rämibühl high school before opting for a degree course in political science at the University of Zurich. After completing her Bachelor’s degree, she specialised in international relations, democracy and development research for her Master’s degree, focusing specifically on conflict studies. She currently works at two research institutes in Berne.

For Cemre, it is important that young people are exposed to politics and system crises at an early age. The participation rate among young people is particularly low. It is even lower among young people with a migrant background. To counter this alienation, Cemre is a member of the board of the Migrantenverein Jugend- und Kulturhaus (young migrants’ cultural association) in Zurich, where she organises panel discussions and presentations on current political topics together with other young people.

It is the task of international NGOs to openly address human rights violations, such as child labour. It is even more important to have the international community commit to binding rules. With the adoption of the UN Charter, the United Nations has taken the first step towards preventing major human rights violations. Nevertheless, working towards the consistent ratification of international agreements still remains a major problem today. This is demonstrated in the case of the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, which is not yet legally binding in all countries. As a Youth Rep, Cemre would like to inspire young people and young adults to take a critical look at this matter and make concrete demands at the UN. She looks forward to representing the concerns of young people at the UN.

Cemre Balaban

Cemre Balaban

Youth Rep

cemre.balaban@youthrep.ch

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Cemre Balaban

Cemre Balaban ist 24-jährig und in Zürich aufgewachsen. Sie erlangte ihre Matura im altsprachlichen Profil am Literargymnasium Rämibühl und entschied sich danach für das Studium der Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Zürich. Nach Abschluss des Bachelors spezialisierte sie sich im Master im Bereich der internationalen Beziehungen, Demokratie- und Entwicklungsforschung und setzte sich spezifisch mit Konfliktstudien auseinander. Gegenwärtig arbeitet sie in zwei Forschungsinstituten in Bern.

Für Cemre ist es wichtig, dass sich Jugendliche besonders früh mit Politik und Systemkrisen befassen. Die Partizipationsrate unter Jugendlichen ist besonders tief. Noch tiefer ist sie bei Jugendlichen mit Migrationshintergrund. Um dieser Entfremdung entgegenzuwirken, engagiert sich Cemre im Vorstand des Migrantenvereins Jugend- und Kulturhaus Zürich, wo sie gemeinsam mit Jugendlichen Podiumsdiskussionen und Referate zu aktuellen politischen Ereignissen organisiert.

Es ist die Aufgabe der internationalen NGOs, Menschenrechtsverletzungen, wie z.B. Kinderarbeit, offen anzusprechen. Noch wichtiger ist es, die internationale Gemeinschaft zu verbindlichen Regeln zu verpflichten. Mit der Verabschiedung der UN-Charta, ist den Vereinten Nationen damit der erste Schritt zur Unterbindung grösserer Menschenrechtsverletzungen gelungen. Dennoch bleibt die konsequente Ratifikation internationaler Vereinbarungen auch heute noch ein grosses Problem. Dies zeigt sich am Beispiel der UN-Kinderrechtskonvention, die noch nicht in allen Staaten rechtskräftig ist. Als Youth Rep möchte Cemre Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene dazu motivieren, sich mit diesen Inhalten kritisch auseinanderzusetzen und daraus konkrete Forderungen an die UNO zu stellen. Sie freut sich darauf, die Anliegen der Jugend bei der UNO vertreten zu dürfen.

Cemre Balaban

Cemre Balaban

Youth Rep

cemre.balaban@youthrep.ch

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This