Giada Crivelli

Giada Crivelli, a 22-year-old student, was born and raised in the Canton of Ticino, where she completed a high school diploma in linguistics at the Liceo Cantonale in Mendrisio.

She studies in the law department at the University of Lucerne and is particularly interested in matters of public law and international public law. Giada took an active role in university life from the offset. She was elected to the “StudRat”, the student parliament at the University of Lucerne, where she is currently the vice president. In 2014 she became a member of the executive board and subsequently assumed the presidency of the “MUN University of Lucerne” association. MUN, or Model United Nations, is a student association present throughout the world which holds mock United Nations (UN) diplomatic negotiations. Following this, she took part in various conferences and study trips abroad.

As well as being active on a university and political level, Giada also volunteers for the “Associazione Svizzera Cuba” (Switzerland-Cuba Association – ASC). In February 2016 she went to Camagüey, a city on the Caribbean island, and drafted the final report in a project supported by the ASC and “Solidarit’eau Suisse” pertaining to the purification of drinking water.

Gender equality, the rights of the LGBT community and the rights of refugees are topics very dear to Giada’s heart. She also believes that it is essential to tackle the issue of mental health, which she finds particularly important in relation to her role as young Swiss delegate to the UN. Giada is convinced that it is necessary to make people aware of and to discuss this topic in order to eradicate or at least reduce the stigma associated with mental illnesses and in doing so promote access to psychological and psychiatric treatments to reduce the risk of suicide in young people.

Giada Crivelli

Giada Crivelli

Youth Rep

giada.crivelli@youthrep.ch

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Giada Crivelli

Die 22-jährige Studentin Giada Crivelli ist im Kanton Tessin geboren und aufgewachsen. Sie besuchte das kantonale Gymnasium in Mendrisio, wo sie eine Matura mit Schwerpunkt Sprachen erlangte.

Sie studiert Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Luzern und interessiert sich insbesondere für öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht. Seit dem Beginn ihrer Studienzeit engagiert sich Giada im Universitätsalltag. So wurde sie in den Studrat, das Studierendenparlament der Universität Luzern, gewählt, wo sie derzeit als Vizepräsidentin tätig ist. Im Jahr 2014 trat sie dem Vorstand der Studierendenorganisation bei und übernahm darauf das Präsidium der Vereinigung «MUN University of Lucerne». MUN bedeutet «Model United Nations» und organisiert Konferenzen, an denen delegierte Studierende aus der ganzen Welt die Arbeit der Vereinten Nationen (UNO) simulieren. Giada weilt somit oft im Ausland, wo sie an Studienreisen und Konferenzen teilnimmt.

Neben ihrem politischen und universitären Engagement ist Giada auch als Freiwillige bei der Vereinigung Schweiz-CUBA tätig. Im Februar 2016 reiste sie in die kubanische Kleinstadt Camaguey und verfasste dort den Schlussbericht für ein Projekt zur Aufbereitung von Trinkwasser, das die Vereinigung Schweiz-Cuba zusammen mit Solidarit’eau unterstützt.

Die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter, die Rechte der LGBT-Gemeinschaft und der Flüchtlinge liegen ihr sehr am Herzen. Gemäss Giada muss dem Thema geistige Gesundheit unbedingt mehr Beachtung geschenkt werden. Diesen Schwerpunkt verfolgt sie insbesondere bei der Ausübung ihres Mandates als UNO-Jugenddelegierte für die Schweiz. Giada ist überzeugt davon, dass die Sensibilisierung für das Thema geistige Gesundheit entscheidend dazu beitragen kann, die Stigmatisierung von Geisteskrankheiten zu beseitigen, oder wenigstens zu mindern, und damit einen besseren Zugang zu psychologischen und psychiatrischen Behandlungen zu ermöglichen und die Suizidgefahr bei Jugendlichen zu reduzieren.

Giada Crivelli

Giada Crivelli

Youth Rep

giada.crivelli@youthrep.ch

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This