Sabine Fankhauser

Sabine Fankhauser, 20, grew up in Riehen (Canton of Basel-Stadt). Her interest in international affairs was piqued during a school exchange to New Zealand. After completing secondary education, Sabine therefore decided to take a gap year to travel, work and volunteer. At the end of that year, she started her studies in international relations at the University of St. Gallen. Alongside her studies, Sabine tries to find out more about the widest possible range of different viewpoints and cultures. During the past 15 years she has been a host sister to many young guests from Latin and North America, Lithuania, Romania and New Zealand, who have helped to give her an understanding of their respective cultures whilst spending several months as part of her family. In 2015, Sabine and her family decided to welcome a young girl from Eritrea. By seeing things from her guest sister’s point of view, Sabine gained a much deeper understanding of the challenges refugees face in Switzerland on a cultural, linguistic and technical level.

When Sabine is not pursuing her hobbies (snowboarding and playing the saxophone), she devotes her free time to social activities. Along with other young adults, she spent several months co-organising the Swiss German Delegation’s trip to the World Youth Day in Krakow, for example, and offered additional German language assistance to migrants on behalf of the Youth Red Cross St. Gallen. Being in contact with and talking to young people from a variety of backgrounds has taught Sabine the importance of integrating all young people into society.

During her time as a youth rep, she therefore aims to take the concerns and needs of young people seriously, introduce their opinions into national and international politics and encourage young people to take an active role in shaping their own future. She believes that incorporating young people can be of benefit to politics in terms of creativeness and new perspectives, and she wants to work towards a society which attaches more value to the voice of young people.

Sabine Fankhauser

Sabine Fankhauser

Youth Rep

sabine.fankhauser@youthrep.ch

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Sabine Fankhauser

Die 20-jährige Sabine Fankhauser ist in Riehen (Basel-Stadt) aufgewachsen. Ihr Schüleraustausch in Neuseeland weckte ihr Interesse an internationalen Themen. Deshalb entschied sich Sabine nach Abschluss der Matura für ein Zwischenjahr, in welchem sie reiste, arbeitete und Freiwilligeneinsätze leistete. Danach nahm sie ihr Studium der internationalen Beziehungen an der Universität St. Gallen auf. Neben ihrem Studium versucht Sabine, möglichst unterschiedliche Sichtweisen und Kulturen kennenzulernen. Unter anderem brachten ihr während der vergangenen 15 Jahre mehrere Gastgeschwister aus Latein- und Nordamerika, Litauen, Rumänien oder Neuseeland ihren Lebensstil näher, während sie jeweils für mehrere Monate Teil ihrer Familie waren. 2015 entschieden Sabine und ihre Familie, eine Jugendliche aus Eritrea aufzunehmen. Durch ihre Perspektive erkennt Sabine die Herausforderungen der kulturellen, sprachlichen und fachlichen Integration von Flüchtlingen in der Schweiz verstärkter.

Wenn Sabine nicht gerade ihre Hobbies – das Snowboarden und Saxophonspielen – verfolgt, investiert sie ihre Freizeit in soziale Tätigkeiten. So hat sie zum Beispiel während mehreren Monaten zusammen mit anderen jungen Erwachsenen die Reise der Deutschschweizer Delegation an den internationalen Weltjugendtag in Krakau mitorganisiert oder erteilt im Rahmen des Jugendrotkreuzes St. Gallen Migranten und Migrantinnen Deutschnachhilfe. Der Kontakt und die Diskussionen mit Jugendlichen mit unterschiedlichsten Hintergründen zeigen Sabine die Wichtigkeit der Einbindung aller Jugendlichen in die Gesellschaft.

Während ihrer Zeit als Youth Rep möchte Sabine deshalb die Anliegen und Bedürfnisse Jugendlicher ernst nehmen, ihre Meinungen in die nationale sowie internationale Politik einbringen und Jugendliche dazu anregen, ihre Zukunft aktiv mitzugestalten. Sie ist der Meinung, dass die Politik durch den Einbezug der Jugend an Ideenreichtum und anderen Sichtweisen gewinnt und möchte an einer Gesellschaft mitwirken, die der Stimme der Jugend mehr Beachtung schenkt.

Sabine Fankhauser

Sabine Fankhauser

Youth Rep

sabine.fankhauser@youthrep.ch

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This